Better late than never

IMG_1078.JPG

I remember our first kiss
and how your tongue met mine in earnest as if reciprocity were our game. I waited until noon today, to send a quick text that said,
“Hey, Happy V-day.” There are heart shaped candies in the house bought by my husband. Heart shaped cards my children made in a hurry
last night. Kiss me, Sweet heart,
the words appear in Victoria’s Secret email. Last Chance for love as if love were a type of plant that blooms once
only in Lucky Garden. I waited until noon, to send a message to you
because Valentines
are reserved for legitimate love.
Follow the breadcrumbs left by
little Gretel and end up in a planet
Lonesome.

-AW

Scavenger hunt 13: first kiss, a planet, a type of plant, bread crumbs

This entry was posted in creative writing, love, poem, poetry, Scavenger Hunt Writing, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better late than never

  1. theinfiniterally says:

    I enjoyed this so much that I was surprised when I saw the prompts. It felt natural in its flow. Great work!

Leave a Reply

