Everlastings

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 4.10.01 PM
image taken from: http://www.thymegarden.com/Strawflower

What good is it to persevere
long after my bloom has passed,
alone and away from my kin?
Once in awhile, someone may come by
and wonder what color I once was.
Purple or violet? Maybe bright pink, a child
once whispered into my stalk, now fragile and inflexible.
Does she know I once dreamed of
falling onto the great earth, bury my  face
in the soft  humus while my yellow pollen
conspire to stow away on the bees’ bristles?
Now I  lay here for eternity,
my Everlastings petals shrunk between page 10 and 11
where the anti-hero tells the girl,
I do not love you the way you deserve to–
And I have to rigidly hang onto his words in vintage hue,
and preserve this moment over and over.

 

I am participating in Leah’s Winter 2016 Scavenger Hunt Writing so that I would be more committed to writing daily. This is prompt number seven: Everlastings. 

Check out Leah’s Scavenger Hunting 2016 here:

 

 

 

This entry was posted in creative writing, Daily Writing, love, poem, poetry, scavenger hunt 2016, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

